Who can become an Academy member?

The Canadian Academy offers several types of memberships to accommodate many individuals. All memberships are individual and non-transferable.

Over 90% of our members hold voting memberships with the Academy. Eligibility for voting membership is determined by the number of professional credits an individual holds in the division to which they are applying.

Voting memberships are offered in three types:

Regular Voting Membership – $150/year + applicable taxes

International Voting Membership – $100/year + applicable taxes
Offered to members residing outside of Canada. 

Under 30 Voting Membership – $75/year + applicable taxes
Offered to voting members under 30 years of age. Proof of age must be provided when signing up.

Not yet eligible for a voting membership? A non-voting membership is designed for emerging career professionals and students interested in joining the Academy’s community and taking advantage of the professional development and networking opportunities throughout the year.

Non-voting memberships are offered in two types:

Friend (Non-Voting) Membership – $100/year + applicable taxes

Student (Non-Voting) Membership – $45/year + applicable taxes
Offered to students currently enrolled full-time at a post-secondary Academic institution. Proof of student status must be provided when signing up.

How long does my membership last?

Your membership is annual and will expire the following year on the last day of the month you signed up. For example, if you join as a member on June 9, 2019, your membership will lapse June 30, 2020.

How do I know which membership is best for me?

In order to join as a Voting Member (Regular Voting, International Voting, and Under 30 Voting), individuals must have a certain number of credits on film, television, and digital media projects. When you sign up for a membership, you will be asked to provide an IMDb page or another way to verify these credits. Upon receipt of an application for membership, the Academy will contact you to confirm the division and branch(es) under which you will be eligible to vote.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television membership consists of three divisions: Cinema, Television, and Digital Media. Under each division are a series of voting branches distinguished by roles and crafts (e.g. Director, Screenwriter, Producer, Costume Designer, etc).

For a full list of our voting eligibility and criteria, see below.

File a complaint:

Any Canadian Academy member in good standing and who has previously submitted a formal complaint to an employer or union (or authorized representative of that member) may choose to provide the Academy with a Notice of Complaint (“Complaint”).

Note: The Academy may also accept a Notice of Complaint from the referring organization directly if the complaint is made aware about an Academy member and/or someone currently nominated for a Canadian Screen Award.

The formal notice should be sent via email to confidential@academy.ca. Please provide the following details:

  1. Your name and contact phone number
  2. Academy membership number
  3. Date, time, and location of the incident
  4. The organization with which the formal complaint was filed (i.e. the “referring organization”)
  5. Date and time of submission of the formal complaint
  6. Name of the respondent
  7. Brief description of the incident


Within 24 hours of receiving the confidential email, CEO Beth Janson will acknowledge confirmation of the report directly with the individual that has filed it. Within 30 days of receipt, the Committee will convene to meet to first determine if the reported action is in breach of the Code of Conduct. A representative of the Committee will then notify the referring organization that a Complaint has been filed.

The Committee will be responsible for reviewing Complaints and making decisions regarding resolution and disciplinary measures (where applicable). It is the responsibility of the complainant to inform the Academy of the resolution of their complaint with the referring organization. Upon adjudication of the complaint by the referring organization, the Committee will determine what (if any) disciplinary measures to apply. When necessary, these measures will be enforced within 10 days of receiving the report of the investigation results.

All parties involved in a reported incident and/or subsequent investigation and resolution process have the right to a fair and neutral process. As such, any members of the Committee who have a prior relationship with any of the involved parties will be required to recuse themselves from the investigation (and subsequent disciplinary) process.

Where the Academy is made aware of an incident that could be in breach of the Code of Conduct where neither the complainant nor the respondent is a member or employee of an organization with sufficient capacity to undertake an investigation, the Academy will refer the putative complainant to one (or more) of the more general resources described here.

Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television Code of Conduct Committee (“the Committee”)

*Each member of the Committee has signed an agreement of confidentiality pertaining to all matters of the committee:

Tracey Deer (Chair)

Julie Bristow

Mark Slone

Beth Janson

Karen Bruce


If you are in immediate danger or fear for your safety, CALL 911. If you wish to pursue a formal complaint through a relevant union or guild, please contact them directly. Below is a list with the contact information for the relevant unions and guilds.

Additional Reporting and Support Resources

If you are involved in an incident or investigation and need support, the following resources are here for you: