Your address will show here +12 34 56 78
  • Text Hover



The Academy Members Lounge offers four days of professional development events during Canadian Screen Week including key notes, panels, round tables, and product demos as well as daily networking receptions and complimentary lunch – all free for Academy members.

Academy members are also able to vote for the nominees and winners of the Canadian Screen Awards.

Get involved and sign up here.


  • Text Hover

Join Academy CEO, Beth Janson as she sits down with Bell Media’s President of Content and Programming, Mike Cosentino for a candid conversation that will delve into the core tenets of the innovation agenda in the Canadian media sector and will examine Bell Media’s focus on innovation, creativity, talents, and partnerships as central to its future success.


Keynote Speaker:

Mike Cosentino, President of Content and Programming, Bell Media


Interviewed by:

Beth Janson, CEO, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television

  • Text Hover

Join some of the creative talent behind edgy newcomer, The Beaverton, and broadcast veteran This Hour Has 22 Minutes as we pose the question, “What role does satire have in our tumultuous world when current affairs feel like a bad joke?”.

Moderator: Elizabeth Renzetti
– Columnist, The Globe and Mail


Mike Allison – Writer, This Hour Has 22 Minutes
Luke Gordon Field – Co-Executive Producer, The Beaverton
Susan Kent – Cast Member, This Hour Has 22 Minutes
Miguel Rivas – Host, The Beaverton 



  • Text Hover

Join us as we sit down with key members of the Workin’ Moms family and go behind the scenes of the CBC’s hit comedy to discuss their contributions to the show, the challenges and opportunities of working in the industry and what it is like to work on a production with a strong cast, creative team and technical crew that just happens to be female.

Hannah Cheesman – Writer

Maya Bankovic
– Director of Photography
Marilyn Kiewiet – Art Director
Lynda McCormack – Makeup Artist
Molly McGlynn -Director
Leanne Morrison – Hair Stylist
Elisa Sauvé– Production Designer

  • Text Hover

The effects of Climate Change are irrefutable, and the price of inaction in mitigating our carbon footprint are no longer tenable. Accordingly, Sustainable Production has become a key phase in our industry over the past few years. Panelists Zena Harris, Emellie O’Brien and Kelsey Evans will provide an overview of their work with a broader, more North American perspective.

Moderator: David Hardy
– Vice President, Industry/Government Relations & Sustainability, William F. White International Inc.

Kelsey Evans – Owner, Keep It Green Recycling
Zena Harris – President, Green Spark Group
Emellie O’Brien – Founder & President, Earth Angel

  • Text Hover

Join Naomi Snieckus (Mr D, Second City) and a group of talented women who are working both in front of and behind the camera as they discuss the challenges and victories within their respected crafts that have contributed to where they are today – Canadian Screen Award nominees!

Hosted by the multi-talented Naomi Snieckus, Firecracker Department is a sit-down with the brightest minds and most charismatic women in entertainment, representing the full spectrum of ‘the biz’. But despite their showbiz superpowers, none can resist the targeted charm of their host. Naomi and her guests kick off their shoes and begin a very informal conversation, that is real and often intensely personal. It’s a funny, frank talk about success, life in the public eye, the victories, embarrassments and vagaries of fame. Firecracker Department is produced by Carousel Pictures and co-produced by Grayson Matthews.

Podcast Host: Naomi Snieckus – Host, Firecracker Department

Podcast Guests:
Sarah Kolasky – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee, Best Original Screenplay, Great Great Great
Allie MacDonald – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Winner, Best Supporting Actress, Drama, Cardinal
Rakhee Morzaria – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee, Best Web Program or Series, Fiction, Rakhee Morzaria’s Note to Self
Friday Myers – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee, Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction, Anne
Joyce Wong – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee, John Dunning Discovery Award, Wexford Plaza

  • Text Hover

Blockchain is widely considered to be a once in a generation revolutionary technology but what is Blockchain exactly and what impact could the technology have for the creative sector with regard to contracts, licensing, rights management, financing and royalty payments.

Moderator: Jenna Pilgrim – Director of Business Development, Blockchain Research Institute

Neville Brown – Certified Ethereum Blockchain Developer and Business Manager
Othalia Doe-Bruce – MBA, CIPM, CED – Community Engagement Manager, The Blockchain Hub
Christine McGlade – Founder, Analytical Engine Interactive Inc.



  • Text Hover

In recent years, traditional format Canadian television dramas have experienced a renaissance of creativity and popularity while simultaneously, production of dramatic programs and limited series are appearing more frequently on the broadcast schedule. Join us for a discussion about the future of storytelling for TV and how Canadian productions are at the forefront of the evolving landscape.

Moderator: Katie Bailey – Editor and Content Director, Playback


Ken Girotti -2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee for Best Direction, Drama Series, Pure
TW Peacocke – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee for Best Direction, Drama Program or Limited Series, Murdoch MysteriesOnce Upon a Murdoch Christmas
Peter Stebbings – 2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominee for Best Direction, Drama Program or Limited Series, The Disappearance
David Wellington – 2016 Canadian Screen Award Nominee for Best Dramatic Series, Saving Hope 


  • Text Hover

A candid panel discussion that continues the conversations with leaders from industry organizations, unions and guilds, which began late in 2017 and looks at where we are today in terms of guidelines and policies that have been implemented to-date and those that are in process to address sexual misconduct and harassment in the workplace in our industry.

Moderator: Marguerite Pigott
– Vice-President, Outreach & Strategic Initiatives, CMPA

Jonathan Ahee – President, Executive Board, NABET 700-M UNIFOR
Aisling Chin-Yee – Board Member, Women in View; Creator, #aftermetoo
Beth Janson – CEO, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television
Catherine Middleton – DGC National Directors Division, Western Councils & Director Rights Acquisitions
Theresa Tova – President, ACTRA Toronto